Getting tougher for the little guy

Ok our latest Federal budget is out and of course regardless of who is in power we the little people will be doing it tougher in the future. This means tightening the belt and making ends meet as best we can. Our budget is tight and we do what we can to lessen our expenditure. I will be working harder than I have ever done, now, to keep on track. I will try to share with you what I do to save us a few pennies.

I was given the opportunity to enter a competition on handicraft yesterday but it required me to purchase 100% wool and now??? well that is out. I will continue to make items for sale and for charity purposes for the CWA but I will not be able to compete now. I know its a small whinge but we must do what we must do to survive hard times and this comp is not feasible now. I can not justify spending $25 or more on a jumper I may knit when it costs me so little to purchase a second hand one, especially when the purpose is to give my vanity a treat by entering it into a competition.

  • Today I darned the toes of my Hubbies slippers, he has worn them to the point the toes have developed holes. This saves us purchasing another pair for a few more years.
  • I mended a hole in the shoulder of a knitted vest I have had for years, it will do me for quite some years to come now and it now sports a tiny pink flower where the hole use to be.
  • I have hung my clothes on the line outside rather than use the dryer because I cant see why I should pay for electricity when the sun and wind do a perfectly fine job.
  • I boiled the kettle and washed up in a container rather than ran the gas water heater and fill the sink. Gas is expensive and I use so little water when I use kettle boiled water…especially if I also make a cup of coffee from the same kettle of water.
  • I opened my curtains to capture the morning sun to heat the unit up after a chilly start to the day rather than use the heater.

These are all little things I know, but everything adds up and helps out…sweat the small stuff guys and then you will not have to worry about the big things anymore.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/story-streams/federal-budget-2017/2017-05-09/federal-budget-2017-tax-rise-what-you-pay/8512100

 

Federal budget 2017: Here’s how much extra tax you’ll pay per year

Posted yesterday at 22:08

If you’ve heard the Medicare Levy is rising and you’re wondering what that means for you — we’ve done the sums.

The Medicare Levy is a charge paid by most taxpayers to fund our public health system.

It’s increasing by 0.5 per cent from July 2019 — up from 2 per cent to 2.5 per cent.

If you’re currently exempt from paying the Medicare Levy, you’ll still be exempt.

Here’s how much extra you’ll pay per year:

What you earn Extra amount you’ll pay
$25,000 $125
$50,000 $250
$75,000 $375
$100,000 $500
$125,000 $625
$150,000 $750
$175,000 $875

Here’s what else you need to know:

  • If you earn less than $21,655 as an individual, you’re exempt from paying the Medicare Levy.
  • If you earn less than $36,541 as a family, you’re exempt. And you can earn an extra $3,356 per child before you’re hit with the levy.
  • The Government says the $8.2 billion the levy will raise over the next four years will fund the National Disability Insurance Scheme.
Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

