cooking

Yesterday we got to a box of books in the garage of decluttering, well we get to a lot of boxes of books but this one is mine. Its my cook books. they are now on the shelf that was waiting for them.

I have tried a new recipe today…. Meat balls with egg=lemon sauce..I cant wait for Hubby to get home because it tastes so nice.

I got it out of The Margaret Fulton Crock pot cookbook.1977 print

Meatballs with egg-lemon sauce

500g (1 lb) lean mince beef

1 small onion, chopped

1 teaspoon fresh mint chopped

1 tablespoon parsley

2 tablespoons of rice

salt and pepper

1/1/2 cups of beef stock or water and stock cube

1 cup of water

2 egg yolks (I just used one large egg)

juice of 1 lemon (I only had lemon cordial concentrate)

the recipe doesnt call for garlic but I put in a heaped spoon full of crushed garlic…

 

Mix beef, onion parsley mint season with salt and pepper add 1/4 cup stock. Mix well and form into 24 balls the size of walnuts. Roll lightly in the rice.

Meanwhile put the stock into the crockpot turned to high. Carefully drop the in the meatballs. Cover and turn to low and cook for 6-8 hours or high 2 to 4 hours.

beat egg and lemon juice. slowly add most the hot stock from the crockpot, beating constantly. stir and stand for 5 minutes with the heat turned off it will thicken.

I added sweet potato to the crockpot so mines a bit thicker and we will have it with greens and pasta..

 

Wondering if I may actually become a fair to middling cook one day lol.

 

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

